Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Documentation and How To's:
Randomize Song Playlist
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/21/07 07:04 
Has anyone figured out a way to randomize the song playlist for the flash music player?

I think I read you can do it with the "&random=true" but I'm not sure which line to add it to.

Thanks,

BR


_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 04/21/07 07:48 
Thats what you do, add &random=1 to your play.php? url and it will randomize it...

Hope this helps Smile


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/21/07 08:06 
Okay so this is what I have right now:


Code

player_info_text=$JAMROOM_URL player_playlist_title=$_USER.band_name auto_play="yes" repeat="yes"}


I guess I'm still lost as how to add it. should it be:

Code


player_info_text=$JAMROOM_URL player_playlist_title=$_USER.band_name auto_play="yes" repeat="yes" &random=1}




SixString:
Thats what you do, add &random=1 to your play.php? url and it will randomize it...

Hope this helps Smile



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
smith.kyle
CodeSmith


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 22009
Location: Southern California

Posted: 04/21/07 10:29 
You would just do random="1". Hope this helps!

Kyle


_________________
kyle[at]jamroom.net

Yes...that's a soda machine...

I get bored when no one's posting...
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/21/07 11:51 
Alrighty .. sometimes it's the simple things.. this is what I have now:


Code


{jr_flash_player player_type="`$JAMROOM_URL`/themes/Proton/professional_large.swf" band_id=$BAND_ID song_id="all" random="1" player_playlist_title="TheRevolutionMusic.com" height="200" width="400"}


I think this is correct, but it isn't randomizing the songs..

BR



smith.kyle:
You would just do random="1". Hope this helps!

Kyle



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
smith.kyle
CodeSmith


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 22009
Location: Southern California

Posted: 04/21/07 11:56 
That is correct, but I'm not sure why it wouldn't be working? What version of jamroom are you using?


_________________
kyle[at]jamroom.net

Yes...that's a soda machine...

I get bored when no one's posting...
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/21/07 13:22 
running the newest version. Here is the page I've been testing.

http://www.therevolutionmusic.com/TensionHead/

It shows it calling it when I view the source as well.
I'm stumped.

BR


smith.kyle:
That is correct, but I'm not sure why it wouldn't be working? What version of jamroom are you using?



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/22/07 06:14 
Kyle,

Just a thought that occurred to me as I nurse a hangover.. random="1" doesn't that mean that it randomizes all songs for bands in quota 1? As such it would probably only be able to be called from a skin..

What I'm trying to do it randomize songs for an individual band (band id 66) in a template.

Anyways, just a thought.. thanks

BR


smith.kyle:
That is correct, but I'm not sure why it wouldn't be working? What version of jamroom are you using?



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
smith.kyle
CodeSmith


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 22009
Location: Southern California

Posted: 04/22/07 11:38 
that should still be working, as long as random is set, then it should work. What does it look like in the URL of the source code? It should be &random=1. If it's still nto working, maybe its jamroom cache related.


_________________
kyle[at]jamroom.net

Yes...that's a soda machine...

I get bored when no one's posting...
Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 04/22/07 12:16 

smith.kyle:
that should still be working, as long as random is set, then it should work. What does it look like in the URL of the source code? It should be &random=1. If it's still nto working, maybe its jamroom cache related.


I don't think its putting the random in the right place


Quote:
%26type%3Dxspf&autoload=true&info_button_text=&playlist_title=TheRevolutionMusic.com&random=1


Shouldn't it look like this:


Quote:
%26type%3Dxspf%26random%3D1&autoload=true&info_button_text=&playlist_title=TheRevolutionMusic.com


its adding the random but its putting it in the players parameters part, not the play.php url part.

Smile


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/22/07 18:00 
Does that mean I've put the code in the wrong place or something else going on?

BR



SixString:

smith.kyle:
that should still be working, as long as random is set, then it should work. What does it look like in the URL of the source code? It should be &random=1. If it's still nto working, maybe its jamroom cache related.


I don't think its putting the random in the right place


Quote:
%26type%3Dxspf&autoload=true&info_button_text=&playlist_title=TheRevolutionMusic.com&random=1


Shouldn't it look like this:


Quote:
%26type%3Dxspf%26random%3D1&autoload=true&info_button_text=&playlist_title=TheRevolutionMusic.com


its adding the random but its putting it in the players parameters part, not the play.php url part.

Smile



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
smith.kyle
CodeSmith


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 22009
Location: Southern California

Posted: 04/22/07 18:40 
Try this. It might not work, but it's worth a try.

Code

{jr_flash_player player_type="`$JAMROOM_URL`/themes/Proton/professional_large.swf" band_id="`$BAND_ID`&random=1" song_id="all" random="1" player_playlist_title="TheRevolutionMusic.com" height="200" width="400"}


I added it into the band_id parameter to make it part of the playlist. Hopefully that's a work around for it.

So this is a bug then?


_________________
kyle[at]jamroom.net

Yes...that's a soda machine...

I get bored when no one's posting...
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/22/07 18:54 
Kyle,

you da man! That took care of it. HI5 Now to see if it works in the codesniper.

BR




smith.kyle:
Try this. It might not work, but it's worth a try.

Code

{jr_flash_player player_type="`$JAMROOM_URL`/themes/Proton/professional_large.swf" band_id="`$BAND_ID`&random=1" song_id="all" random="1" player_playlist_title="TheRevolutionMusic.com" height="200" width="400"}


I added it into the band_id parameter to make it part of the playlist. Hopefully that's a work around for it.

So this is a bug then?



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
BigRussian



Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 481
Location: Saginaw, MI

Posted: 04/22/07 19:18 
Well of course.. works great on the jamroom site doesn't work in the code sniper. This is the code I have in the sniper


Code


{jr_flash_player player_type="`$JAMROOM_URL`/themes/Cobalt/professional_large.swf" width="400" height="200" band_id="`$BAND_ID`&random=1" song_id="all" random="1" title="`$_USER.band_name` Music Player" player_info_text=$JAMROOM_URL player_playlist_title=$_USER.band_name auto_play="yes" repeat="yes"}


results in this:

http://www.myspace.com/therevolutionmusicllc

I get this nailed down.. I'm gonna run around the block and wake up the neighbors!

BR



BigRussian:
Kyle,

you da man! That took care of it. HI5 Now to see if it works in the codesniper.

BR




smith.kyle:
Try this. It might not work, but it's worth a try.

Code

{jr_flash_player player_type="`$JAMROOM_URL`/themes/Proton/professional_large.swf" band_id="`$BAND_ID`&random=1" song_id="all" random="1" player_playlist_title="TheRevolutionMusic.com" height="200" width="400"}


I added it into the band_id parameter to make it part of the playlist. Hopefully that's a work around for it.

So this is a bug then?



_________________
TheRevolutionMusic.com
It's all about the music...
Back to top
smith.kyle
CodeSmith


Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 22009
Location: Southern California

Posted: 04/22/07 19:43 
Are you using that on a theme page to show everyone code for the flash player? or is that for showing just the artists code for their flash player? If the latter, do this:


Code
{jr_flash_player player_type="`$JAMROOM_URL`/themes/Proton/professional_large.swf" band_id="`$_USER.band_id`&random=1" song_id="all" random="1" player_playlist_title="TheRevolutionMusic.com" height="200" width="400"}


And that should work. I hope you got a jacket there in michigan, because I don't know about there, but its cold and raining here, so I imagine it's worse there Wink


_________________
kyle[at]jamroom.net

Yes...that's a soda machine...

I get bored when no one's posting...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Documentation and How To's

12Next >
 
Solutions
• Social Media Platform
• Social Networking Software
• Musician Website Manager
• Community Builder
Products
• Jamroom Core
• Jamroom Addons
• Jamroom Modules
• Jamroom Marketplace
Support
• Support Forum
• Documentation
• Support Center
• Contact Support
Community
• Community Forum
• Member Sites
• Developers
Company
• About Us
• Contact Us
• Privacy Policy
©2003 - 2010 Talldude Networks, LLC.